Trust change. Change & Trust.

Trust and Change. Two different words and concepts, yet interlinked in my mind today. It’s no secret that I’m a creature of habit – have been and will be for probably the rest of the time my name remains as Andria. Recently, though, I have been thinking through the good that can come in both in really embracing trust and change. How bout a little story. So last Friday I went in to chat up Giovanna in her Salon + Spa, Duque, over in Ballard. We chatted through ideas and plan of how we will be collaborating here in the near future and then at the butt of the conversation, I mentioned to her I’d been thinking of cutting off all my hair. Not like bald, but definitely a change. Without even 7 blinks of my blue eyes, she was over in front of her computer screen. She had a break and shouted over to me, “get in my chair.” Wait, what? I was inquiring to her, expecting I’d be able to mull this over for at least another year before making a decision. No time. I got in that chair and in under 30 seconds she chopped the back off and said, “this is how short we’re going.”

Now, Giovanna knows what she’s doing. She is a master of “dry cuts” and has been in the business for as long as I’ve been alive. (sorry, not a poke at age there. promise.) Anyway, she got to snipping and I just sat there. Her husband (and hairstylist) Robert mixed up a potion of color and she applied it in an instant. Fast forward through an incredible head massage and hair rinse, blow out, straighten, style and shout. I was done. Now, you may be saying “Wow Andria, am I really reading a blog post about your haircut? Have you really ran out of things to share?” No. First of all, if you’re a girl (and you’re me) cutting 5 inches off your hair, the hair you’ve had the same since you were 14, it IS a big deal. My family has been trying to get me to do this for over a year. I’m stubborn I guess.

The main point is, we all approach people in their own profession/talent/skill with a need. A need, you yourself cannot fulfill. You can approach them with a need and goal in mind – but you must, you must – trust them to do their thing. I mean, did you send off your taxes and then knock on his office door and insist to watch him do it all? No. For me, there is a heck of a lot of trust when I am working with someone in front of my camera. They come to me, we talk, shoot, and then they don’t see anything until the final product is ready. I have their baby (not literally) in my hands. But what I really like is when they have a lot of trust and just go with it…that makes me feel confident and able to even trust myself. There is of course something to say for a thirst for knowledge, but I also believe that this whole thing is already a part of me and I want to trust in myself to do what’s natural, what’s my style, what I’m drawn to. I know I’m not mistakenly on this path, I know and trust that. At the same time, I’m learning to take the time to see others talents – like maybe, a hairstylist – and allow them to show and use their talent. Bask in the glory and get creative.

What about change?  I’m the first to admit that I don’t really like change. I pretty much eat the same things…like, all the time. This new 5-inches shorter do is definitely a change. I get so frozen sometimes when contemplating change. But what if I don’t like it? Just in this one case, I LOVE the change. How many things have I missed out on because I stuck with the regular and expected? Dang. In photography, I get really scared and nervous ahead of time – I never never want my stuff to be expected and start looking the same. But change takes a willingness to take a risk and to try something you may not have tried before. For me, that means just going with my gut and trying out a theme or an idea I just had. I’ve had a few instances where I tried something, got it back to my computer and wouldn’t you know it, that was my favorite. I’m willing to embrace change a bit more from here on out. Who knows what I’ll get. Trust and Change. It’s on my mind.

BONUS! One other thing that keeps reoccurring (and something I LOVE) is how photography has allowed me to build relationships with people I would have never met or never known intimately. Giovanna has become such a special person to me. She is a classy-beautiful-italian-queen who has heart and some serious entrepreneurial skills. Duque is her salon, you know. Annnyway, I’m here to offer you a SCREAMIN deal. Now that I have seen first hand the talent in her hands, I was thinking others should see for themselves too! So, she created a little deal for me. Live in Seattle? Need a hairstylist? Giovanna has you covered. She is a in-demand woman BUT she is here to offer up a promo, because if you’re a friend of a friend of a friend, you get deals. If you call Duque and tell them  that you are a referral from me – she will give you $30 off any cut with her. Youza. You can thnak me later. 🙂 So if you have any salon needs, give Duque a call! And tell your friends… word of mouth is the BEST advertising. I she will have you giggling in your chair – all the while, receiving a bomb cut and style.

That is all for today. A little diary on the blogskee. I know Im gonna be asked why I didnt post a picture. Sorry, no luck. You cant do self portraits with SLR’s. ok, you can, but i didnt. Ta ta. Until tomorrow. When some little girls and a bunch of sugar show up here.

~ by Andria on March 25, 2010.

2 Responses to “Trust change. Change & Trust.”

  1. No pic to go with the story? And I see nothing wrong with writing about haircuts; did it myself in December. When I chopped off my hair. And now I miss it. 😦 Always wanting what I can’t have.

  2. I’ts about TIME you cut your hair!! your family is happy and it looks awesome for those who haven’t seen you. Great job Giovonna!! thankyou for getting her in your chair!!

Leave a Reply

 
