galleria. part 2.

not much to say leading into this. this is my continuation from yesterdays post of the pieces up the gallery at Q Cafe. I will say – though – there has been some confusion. People keep thinking that my showing was a one day showing. I didn’t spend all that time hanging just for a day exhibit! No. They are up for the whole month. Hopefully that answers the question of when my next showing will be. Tomorrow. The next day. Every day of February actually.

So here. The remaining pieces of my set of 16. and the thoughts/captions behind each photo.

Glitz ‘n’ Glamour  

What’s going on here: Paris is magical. Being a girl in the city is magical. The two combined, equals a glitz and glamour filled life. No one should deny themselves the good life – the life in the city: surrounded by bright lights, loyal girlfriends, and never ending shopping sessions. This is the way it should be. In our girlie filled dreams, if nothing else.

Endless Possibilities

What’s going on here: You control your future. You reap what you sow. This piece signifies new beginnings and the hope to spark others to go after exactly what you want for your own life. Finding something that brings passion, fulfillment, creativity should be something everyone has the opportunity to experience. Find it. Go for it.

Homemaker  

What’s going on here: This piece reminds me of a little homemaker’s dream world: like an innocent setting from Little House on the Prairie. I love that in a city like Seattle, there are parks that remain a safe-haven from the fast paced city life we love. It’s the best of both worlds, really.

All Stacked Up

What’s going on here: This is on the streets of Stockholm. On my last day abroad, in a country I had a new love for, I got this shot. It is a terribly common sight. There just chairs. But to me, I remember exactly what I was doing, where I was, and the memory I made only feet from this spot: an ice cream shared between international friends and girls I thought I’d never see again. That alone is the essence of what I love about photography, there is always a story and a memory behind a photo.

The Chase

What’s going on here: An incredible aspect of photography is that I never really know what to expect. Granted, that could be worrisome – but – it has proven to inject some a good amount of adrenaline into my days. A feeling I like. The Seattle skyline is not a new one, although I did get this shot in a way I typically do not shoot in: with a partner. Seeing a certain skyline, sunset or candid scene has inspired me to carry my camera on me at all times. Unpredictability is one of my favorite aspects in photography.

Power Play

What’s going on here: Light is one of the most intriguing aspects in photography. It depends on the moment, must be captured in that minute and cannot be reproduced. The lighting in this photo was there and then gone in an instant. Among many other aspects, photography has taught me to patiently watch for even a short glimpse of beauty.

Streaming Eiffel Tower

What’s going on here: I got this photo after a long tourist day. I was so tired and just leaving the Eiffel grounds when I saw this lower level of the grounds. I went down to check it out, laid down on the grass and realized this was a stunning and totally unique view of the Eiffel Tower. With water spraying on me and a grass stained knee: I got this shot.

To be published in The Boulevard of Photographers 2010 Photos of the Year.

 

Naturally. I changed my mind on a few half way through. They were already all framed but I had to include this last piece. It really is one of my favorites. I didn’t get a chance to get a photo of it framed. But its huge. Its on display in the largest frame I have on display.

Warp Speed  

What’s going on here: One of the first reasons I fell in love with photography was because it allowed me to leave stress, chaos and a life on the go in the dust and really take time to connect with people in a way I had never before. This photo is very special to me. On one of my first true creative shoots where both she and I let our reservations go and just went for it, this piece was created. This photo will always remind me that creative patience can bring things far better than expected.

________

THESE DID NOT QUITE MAKE THE CUT. but still. I’ll show them to you.

So there we go. The remaining frames and last of my my first 16 in a gallery. It’s hard to tell size – but they are 16×20 and 20×28 inch frames. Available larger, smaller or just the printed photo. Thanks for looking through. make it a great. day.

~ by Andria on February 10, 2010.

2 Responses to “galleria. part 2.”

  1. omgomgomgomgomg. you are perfect. they are perfect. i love you!

  2. I want to buy one!! great job

Leave a Reply

 
