buckle up.

As I sit in my room – eating lunch, taking a quiet minute to myself, and catching up on some emails – before I head into Day 6 of the work week, I YouTube searched the velvet voiced singer “Jem” for one of my favorite songs “You Will Make It” only to see she does not have a video (dang, I LOVE that song) but stumbled upon a different video of hers. “Just a Ride” is a great little upbeat encourager. Listen to the words…thanks Jem, you’re a gem.

I started to listen to the words and actually identified what she is singing to the thoughts I heard from guest speaker Kathi Goertzen (Seattle news anchor) today. She mentioned how we all live our life some sort of hurricane. True True Kathi. We are nowhere near Florida, but still I feel at times its hurricane season in my neck of the woods. So many things contribute to the storm…you know them…they are in your life just as much as mine – I’ll let you fill in the blanks.

I am learning (or at least reminding myeslf) to not get sucked in to the hurricane mentality. This is of course not an easy or pleasant process but still, a necessity. The wise words of Pastor Bill (PB) reminded me today that when we put our so called “problems” into perspective, we quickly realize just how problematic they are. Is working 6 hectic days a week really all that bad? What if I spent those 49 work hours without work? It is possible that I would consider that to be problematic. Perspective and balance.

I like to think of myself as a positive minded person, but still things happen and you get tired. It’s sobering to think this *spot* that I happen to be at in life actually is a pretty calm point…lets fast forward a few years to family, babies, bills, a household, full on career….I am guessing I may look back and think, “ah the good ol days.” So I’m putting that into my mental bank for the day/week/month as I keep treckin on.  

Life is grand. I love it. Let’s all remove ourselves from the false hurricane that is so easy to get overcome with. Gotta go, I’m off to work!

Do YOU have a quote/thought/verse that helps smick-smack you back to reality and put you back into perspective? Do tell.

 

~ by Andria on July 12, 2009.

One Response to “buckle up.”

  1. “be the change you want to see in the world” – Ghandi

    you can’t be the change you want to see in the world if you never stop to take a moment out of life’s hectic ways & look around.

Leave a Reply

 
